• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Walleye patterns

DEADhead

Since many of us on here are in the tying mode right now, I was wondering if anyone had some interesting walleye patterns that worked for them. I've gotten quite a bit of my trout and smallmouth patterns tied already, and was interested in chasing after some walleyes during the early season...

Just looking for some good ideas other than the obvious clouser/streamer/bugger patterns.

Forgive me for piggybacking, but where do you look for the walleyes in the spring? This is my first year with a boat to get out there early.

Obviously no experience yet, but I'm thinking the ever popular Clousers or deceivers tied in the color of your favorite plug, and I'll brobably have some nice marabou/bunny strip leeches with some weight on them.

Ususally in the early season you should be able to find some fish in the shallows and near their spawning areas. A great deal of where the fish are will depend on the water temp. Obviously this will vary within the different regions of the state. Hopefully you will be finding the fish during their post-spawn binging.

If none of that works, work the weedbeds and you may hook into a pike.

A great place to target walleyes on the fly is on the st louis river during the spring run. Huge ammounts of large fish will sit in water only a couple feet deep. I haven't spent much time doing it but I did catch some eyes along with some nice smallies. I assume any river system that holds walleyes in the shallow current areas would be productive as well. I appologize I don't have any secret patterns or anything. All I used was black and brown wooly buggers and would love to hear some other ideas or patterns floating around out there.