• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Fly Fishing Newbie Here.

JeremyCampbell

I was given a fly rod w/reel about a couple months ago by one of my clients for work.(Free) Tried to figure out if I should sell it or learn how to catch something with it.I decided I would give it a try.I know its pretty early to be out wading in my area but what kind of direction should I take to learn some of the basic things to get started? Thank You

Cruise youtube for some basic casting videos, then get out on the yard for some practice. By the time the ponds thaw you should be good enough to cast for some pannies. Lots of fun and a great way to get your feet wet so to speak.

Ditto on what dan said. I've never had personal instruction (though I'm sure I could benefit from it, I'm just antisocial), but have learned to catch fish with flies and a fly rod on my own.

Definitely go panfishing. I like it best when the water is warm and you can see them chasing your fly.

I was given a fly rod w/reel about a couple months ago by one of my clients for work.(Free) Tried to figure out if I should sell it or learn how to catch something with it.I decided I would give it a try.I know its pretty early to be out wading in my area but what kind of direction should I take to learn some of the basic things to get started? Thank You

RD and MB both had good points there.

The Orvis Fly fishing learning center is pretty helpful... Pretty informative videos.

Fly Fishing Learning Cetner

Also... This video would have really helped me when I was starting. Really helps explain a few things in a way that is pretty easy to understand.

Couple problems I see with newbies are:

1 - Moving too fast and jerky. Slow it down, you're propelling a string with a flimsy rod, things take time to load up.