• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

total newb busting into the fly fishing scene.

Eric_Kruger

Ive spent years chasing trophy panfish, hit a few ten and 3/4 inch gills, and some really nice almost 15" crappies, came close tot he 30 mark on walleyes...I crave something new. I picked up a 9' 4wt loomis GLX custom for a reasonable price, I have a 4/5 sized ross to put on it, but Other than that I have no idea what im doing. Looking for any tips for a panfish/trout setup as far as line, tippet, and fly suggestions. anything technique related...etc.

The wife agreed to sign up for the Orvis fishing 101 2 day course in vermont next spring tonight, so I plan to learn as much as I can over the winter while ice fishing, then go out there for the course. I would also like to catch some walleyes on the fly, I think that would be a great feat, and something not most do!

Anyway, enough rambling, thanks for the help!

I'll chime in on panfish:

It's SUPER basic, your line/tackle/flies are very much non-specific and quite a lot all works very well.

Line: weight forward floating. Any 4wt line will work wonderfully, I have something cheap on my 4wt that came free with my reel.

Leader/tippet: I used google to pick something based on throwing #14-#6 hook size flies. I forget what I have to be honest. Sometimes I substitute 4lb mono for tippet.

Flies: nymphs, sreamers, nymph, and more streamers. Also poppers in summer when the water is warmer, you'll WATCH big 'gills rise to your poppers. If it looks leggy, buggy, furry, wiggle, or like a small minnow, it'll work for sunfish and crappies. My junkiest home-tied failures are my best bluegill flies. My favorite crappie fly is a white woolly bugger (or similar profile streamer) small enough for my 4wt to cast.