• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Two of the flats I caught last night were showing definite spawning marks. Aanderude didn't even curse my boat during the spawn.

What does spawn time mean for flathead fishing? Does is slow down, speed up, or get goofy? Kind of a newbie here.....

yep slows down completely. Makes for a hard time catching anything of size.

A good time to hit the area lakes for some eye and panfish action for a week or so.

I can't believe that even I could not slow down the bite in Ed's boat. Last night (Thursday), I think we boated 5 (3 for Ed and 2 for me), and we missed another 4-5 (1-2 for ed, 3 for me).

Here's a little story about the night, wondering if anyone else is seeing "slow eating" flatheads lately.

My first bite hit like a regular flathead -- THUMP -- but for the life of me I couldn't tell if he was there when I picked up my rod. I was on the phone and I kept saying "well I have to get this fish, just a minute....no it's just my bait down there still...no it might be a fish....nah, it's my bait." By the time I got done dinking around figuring out if it was a fish or not, it was probably a good minute after the initial hit. I set the hook and reeled in a TINY 18 incher (which is why it felt like bait smile ). Then Ed gets one not more than 45 seconds later that was munching on it for a solid 45 seconds prior to his hookset. Neither of these fish were gut hooked by any means, even after that long delay.

Then I missed 3 in a row!!! I was setting the hook right when I felt the fish. I think this was WAY too early. Ed advised me that the last couple times he's been out he has let them take it longer than normal. He also reminded me that the 2 fish we had already boated were also on delayed hooksets (mine unintentionally delayed due to my indecisiveness, and his intentional).