• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Timing belt change???

anchor man

Question

I have a 2000 Honda Accord with 73k miles. I've heard some say to replace the timing belt as a maintenance precaution before it goes out, as it'll cost many times more in engine damage than to replace and keep a "fresh" belt. Is this typically an issue with these cars around the 100k mile mark? Have a hard time forking out 600 as maintenance, but maybe it's necessary????

any thought?

10 answers to this question

I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I will give you my personal story on timing belts. As a senior in high school, about 10 year ago, I was driving the olds mans Plymouth Laser down the freeway at about 65 mph and the timing belt went out. Let's just say everything came to a grinding halt right then and there. It was about $2500 to overhaul the entire engine, all of the pistons where completely shot. I believe the car had about 75k miles at the time. I had to wake the old man up at 11 pm, and he wasn't happy.

I replace them every 60,000 miles for piece of mind. Sure they can last longer but you don't want to go 1 minute too long.

I blew one at 150,000 on my old '87 Accord although I don't know if that was the original or if it had been replaced at some point. If I rememeber correctly, it cost me < $300 to replace.

This is for a 2.3 engine Replace Timing Belt, Balancer Belt, and inspect Water Pump every 105,000 miles. We normally put the idlers for timing belt and do water pump.

100k is about the right time to do it, $600 seems steep, its about a 3.5 job and the belt isnt that costly. BUT its a wearing item and if you ride it hard it can bust st anytime, but a new one can also! I would wait!