• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Morel Mushroom hunting help

Meaney

Hey guys, I am new to the whole morel mushroom hunting thing! Can you tell me anything that can help me out this year in searching for those delicious fungi!!?!?

Where to look..

When to look...

Best time of day..

and so on!

Thanks gents smile.gif

I always start to look in my area when the Lilacs start to bloom. Usually the ground cover will have started to green up also.

I look around dead elm where the bark has half fallen off and also if there are any pricky ash around. Usually the south side slope is better but you can get suprised sometimes. You can also check some damp areas around the elm trees as the morels like damp ground. If it rains one day make sure to go looking the next day or two.

I have always looked in the morning so that is when I have my luck. Whe you have looked in one spot and think you are done, walk it from another direction and you should find more. Many times I will simply turn around and look again and by changing angles you can see those little buggers better.

When you go looking for the little grays, take along a 3' stick so you can stand in one spot and move the underbrush around while looking. If you find some just stand there and keep looking because if you find one you are probably going to find more. The grays will pop first and then the nice big yellows will follow.

Its a matter of walking alot and trying to find some spots and then recheck them year after year until those spots stop producing and they will.