• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I am relatively new to the lake, although I have been a regular visitor for a couple of years now. I have trouble finding muskies during the first couple of weeks of the season. I don't want anybodys spots I am just looking for generalizations about their location at this time of year on vermilion. Is the west end better than the east end? Should I be fishing shallow water bays or will the fish already be relating to open water rock structure? I am just looking for some general tips to make the first couple of muskie trips more productive as I have not been able to locate 1 muskie during the first month of the season. From what I have read I must be doing something wrong, but I can't figure it out. Any and all help is appreciated.

Thanks

Jeramy

53orbigger I don't ask for much!

West is not better than east, just a bit different.

Fish are all over, but eaters can be in smaller areas of good eating water with simple cover close by.

June is tough only in the sense that one tends to look where one found them in July or August.

Opener can be the best fishing of the month as these fish have not seen a big lure for sometime.

Many things you can do to find them.

Many lures work also.

Think of all the wonderful places you find while looking for them. smile.gif

Cover lots of area until you find fish then work simular areas with lures you got them to follow or eat. cool.gif

They are there and they will eat.

June rocks once you crack the puzzle and the pieces are different each year, but then again much the same.

The hunt is for sure what it is all about here.

If it was easy, everyone would be good at it.

shocked.gif

Enjoy it all.

wink.gif

T.

53orbigger,

Welcome to Fishing Minnesota!