• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Bow for Elk

iffwalleyes

I am going to be apply to do a archery hunt in Montana this next season. I have a PSE package bow right now but I think if I were to be drawen I would be looking at a new bow of some type. I like PSE but the Matthew's line looks really nice. I have seen there Switchback model advertised. Does anyone have experience with this bow? How would it compare to PSE thundar bolt or Baby G? I am looking for something that has some pretty good speed. I want something that can shoot pretty flat out to 40 yards and still be capable of being able to hit something at 60 yards.

iffwalleyes:

I just bought a Matthews Switchback XT (30inch/70lbs) a few months ago. I am a newbie to archery so I have nothing to compare it to....but I am very happy with my set up. It has a super smooth draw and just a complete dead feel on the release...next to no vibration. Its speed seems pretty good..but like I said, I have nothing to compare it to. I am shooting 31 inch Gold Tips (8.2 grains per inch), with 100 3 Blade Muzzys...and I believe its speed is in the 275-290 range....I am not for sure on speed as I only shot it thru that watchamacallit machine a couple of times before leaving the store..and that was a few months ago.

My friends who are into archery say that the Switchback is one of the better bows on the market and would be more than enough for large game such as Elk.

I think it would worth your time to check it out.....but like everyone told me....shoot a bunch of bows and pick the one that feels best to you.

Good Luck in your search

Cliffy