• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I was directed to this forum by basscatcher. He said that there are some excellent fishermen on this forum that could help me out. Just by reading some of the threads on this forum I would have to agree. Excellent job moderators and everyone else contributing their knowledge to this forum!

I grew up fishing river systems and didn't know how much walleyes related to weedlines until I moved to Minnesota. I have been fishing these fish with limited success for a couple of years. I don't do alot of casting, mostly trolling. Spinners and cranks on the inside and outside edges of the weedline and shallow cranks on top of the weedline. Do any of you have success trolling over the weedline? What are your favorite lures/tactics/setups for weedline edges? Do you have better luck day in and day out with fast presentations (cranks/spinners) or slow presentations (lindy rig/jig/bobber)? How do your presentations change throughout the season?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

You came to the right place there are a lot of guys on here that know what they're doing and are willing to help someone out. I personally pitch jigs around weeds. I use a lindy max gap jig tiped with a minnow either fatheads or shiners. This tactic allows me to cover tons of water in a short period of time. This method has produced fish for me both early in the year and into late summer, but for me nothing produces better in the fall then vertical jigging over deeper water. Don't be afraid to use plastics either on the jig. When the walleyes are really aggressive they will hit almost anything that is put in front of their face. I hope this helped, and for me I have had the most luck on madison and washington using these presentations.

Good Luck!