• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

help with location when studying lake maps

joeyquicksand*

Be it that I am new to Ice fishing, can anyone help me read where the fish might be on a lake map while scouting a location?

Where are the walleyes?

Where are the northerns?

Do fish like rapid depth changes?

Is it similar to the summer for fish location?

please help me fish smarter

Any ideas on a bigger crappie?

It can really all depend on the time of year as well as how the winter conditions take a toll on the lake. For example, early ice will have crappies holding in different areas then during midwinter. Same goes for years with heavy snow cover and thick ice. Air temps and weather systems can be a factor as well, not to mention that each lake can be different depending on water clarity, bottom composition, structure, etc.

A lot of things go into locating winter fish, but you're definitely on the right path by grabbing a lake map to begin your search. Often times its some of the most obvious spots on the map that will produce. Other times its spots that have absolutely no structure or any appeal whatsoever.

Right now I've been finding crappies out towards the mouths of shallow bays and along the deep edge. The deeper holes are also holding crappies, but I'm not one to fish in crowds so I tend to avoid those deeper holes. Deep breaklines leading up to a round underwater point or bar seem to be holding crappies right now too. We even got into a few in about 7 feet of water a week or so back as well.