• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New to the Twin Cities

Remmi_&_I

Hey all, I am new to the Twin Cities, by way of North Dakota. I am an avid pheasant hunter and would like some guidance in where to try my luck in this state. I am a huge believer in finding your own places to hunt from your windshield, but I have had NO luck this season. I went out a couple of days (3rd week of the season) and only saw 2 hens the entire time I hunted.

My question is, could you give me a good area to try out. I don't want your secret fields, but a narrowed down "general" area to try.

Thanks!

Depends how far you are willing to travel. Historically the West and SW areas of the state near Benson, Marshall on down to the Iowa border is the best, but you can find nice pockets of birds elsewhere.

This time of year is a great time as there are few crops and fewer hunters normally so you can hit public land with some success. I grew up in Hutchinson (straight West of Mpls on Hwy 7) and there are birds to be had there. Not the numbers of birds you will see farther West, but definitely better than what you have seen so far.

I have been seeing a ton of birds no matter where I have gone this year. I have hunted near Litchfield, Sauk Centre, St Cloud and have seen numbers of birds every time. More birds in the Litchfield and Sauk Centre areas though.

I was visting the Cities this weekend and brought my dogs (had Saturday free) and we flushed around 100 birds on public lands around Jordan. So there is some birds to be found, even pretty close to the metro.

I agree with the Captian, go West young man....go West.