• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I'm a student at MSU and me and a buddy arent sure where to put the house. Thinking Washington or Madison. Whats our best bet for eyes and maybe a mixed bag?

Both are good lakes for walleyes and crappies. Washington seems to give them up a little easier though and the sunfish are usually biting there too. Madison's crappies tend to run bigger, whereas on Washington there were a lot of good walters pulled last winter.

Traffic will be dam near unbearable on Washington as soon as you can drive out. Tons of people fish that lake in the winter no matter what. Madison usually isn't as bad, but word of a hot bite will pack em in there too.

I would give both a try over the course of the winter.

The amount of snow on the early ice will dictate the fishing on Madison this year. The more snow early on, the faster the natural forage, shad, will die off. Last year we had a huge shad hatch in the fall that survived most of the winter because we had no snow. Washington is best fished mid-week if at all possible. There is less pressure. Washington is a bit more predictable as far as the crappie and walleye bite go. There is always a lot of sunnies to be had on Washington. Madison has bigger crappies and a bit better walleye population. As I mentioned earlier, if we get a good snow cover, the plant life will die off quicker and so will the shad. Thus, getting the bite off to a good start. We did not see any decent action last year until mid February. Eagle Lake is a good early ice choice due to the walleye and northern population. German also tends to do well with the 'eyes. Check around and see what you find, have fun.

Take that advice and run with it Mkto Wallys. Big DS couldn't have said it any better.

Great advice Big DS.