• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Best varmint cartridge

Kodiak

Here we go, I am taking a poll of which cartridge is best as far as flexibility/cost/speed/accuracy. I want to buy a heavy barrel bolt action for my father for christmas for our upcoming prairie dog hunting trips. My brother has a .223 bushmaster with a heavy barrel, and i am looking at getting a dpms bull 24 special in the spring, but my father does not want an auto...help me out please i am new to varmint hunting..i know .223 is good but there are so many.

Ok, here is my 2 cents worth.

I love the 220 swift, but buying ammo off the shelf is not as common as the .223 or a 22-250. I reload so it is a non factor for me.

I have two swifts - a Ruger #1 and a Japanese Arisaka action that my dad had built into a swift. Both are very good shooters, and I tend to load them down a bit from their full potential for velocity.

If I did not reload, I would probably go with a .223 or a 22-250, with the 22-250 likely getting the nod.

For shorter range work, I have a .22 Hornet that is a hoot to shoot, and it is a lot quieter that the swifts.

As far as guns go, I would go with a bolt vs the semi-auto. Savage makes great guns. Very accurate, yet inexpensive. If you want to spend more money, Ruger, Winchester, Remington, and have great options too. Tikka has some real nice guns as well.

That's a coin toss between the two calibers. But being the fact that your brother and you plan to have .223. I'd say go for the .223 just incase your dad needs to borrow some rounds.

Good luck

I would agree with the .223 option for a couple reasons.

First, it is a proven caliber for predators. Ballistic wise, it's solid. Not as flat or fast as a 22-250, but certainly will do the trick.