• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New guy has question.

cliffy

I am new to the sport of archery and I need some help. I have been thinking about getting into this particular sport for the past three years. I have even shot a few bows such as PSE, Darton and Matthews. I can tell that this is something that I would really enjoy...not only for hunting but just target practice as well.

Every time I get into a new activity that requires buying equipment, I try to purchase the best possible equipment so I don’t need to keep updating every year. This has been true for other things I am involved in...such as ice fishing, musky fishing, deer hunting (riffle) and so on.

My question is this? How often does bow technology change. If I spend top dollar now, is it going to be outdated in a year or two......an example would be computers....you buy one today, and three years later, its bottom self.

Thanks for the info.

All companies work on improving there products, so yes, it will get outdated compared to new models, but there is no reason you can't shoot a bow for up to 10 years or better.. New strings and tuned up every year and it should shoot for you for a long time. I like to trade up every 3 or so years. But you are right, it gets spendy.

If you don't go cheap, your bow will not go "out of date". Better stuff may come along but yours will be good until it wears out. A lot of guys shoot recurves in spite of the fact that much newer technology exists and their bows are good. My 2 wheeler is almost 10 years old but I hit well with it and it was a gift from one of my boys. There is new technology since then but it's not like computers where your software and tech support goes away. My bow will last a long time yet. Buy good quality now and welcome to a great sport!!