• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

How do I catch a fish?

Bobby Bass

I saw a post here saying that the new people just keep posting the same old questions and that the answers are out there you just have to look for them on past posts so I thought I would just ask a simple question. Since I am a newbie and have not seen this question.. So How do I catch a fish?

I'll try and help you out on your question.

If you're ice fishing, all you have to do is bring a can of Green Giant peas along with you. They have to be Green giant too. Then after you drill your hole skim out the ice and sprinkle the peas on the ice all the way around the hole. Then watch very closely. When a fish comes up to take a pee, grab it.

Actually I should target my question better. How do you catch a trout at the Duluth Boat Show???? I have seen kids with cheese and corn sneaking it on their hooks/fly... wink.gif

Bobby, years ago I saw a couple of kids buying cheese burgers at the MPLS convention center during the big Sports, Boat and Travel show. They would then take the cheese off and put it in their coat pocket and eat the hamburger.

Then when they went fishing in the trout pond they would stick their hand in their coat pocket and rub some cheese on their fingers. They would then rub their fingers on the fly. No cheese would show so the people running the pond couldn't tell. In one session 3 of them caught 7 trout.

Now back to the major question "How do you catch fish".

FOr ice fishing the pea thing works good but I find that if you use chicken noodle soup and drop the noodles down the hole it works better. Chicken rice soup or veggie beef for cloudy days and potato or clam chowder on sunny days. The chicken noodle works either cloudy or sunny but not when its snowing, then you have to pull out the big guns and go with a 5 alarm chili.