• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Looking for opinions on marine band (VHF) radios

PerchJerker

Question

I have a 10 year old Apelco that's at the end of it's life. Wondering if anyone has anything good or bad to say about any of the marine band radios out there - Raymarine, ICOM, Standard Horizen, Uniden, etc. I found a Uniden Polaris on sale and am thinking about going with it, but I have no experience with Uniden. Anyone have any advice or opinions?

FYI, it will be a fixed mount radio with an 8 foot antenna. Thanks in advance.

6 answers to this question

I bought a Lowrance Lvr-850 last spring. This was my first Marine radio so I can't compare with other model's. Price was right and work's great!... Strat

Hey Strat,did you configure your LVR for the DSC function? I just received the 850 also and yet to see the real benefit of this feature. Take care...

I have used quite a few Icom and Uniden marine radios. Either will certainly do the job. You should not need a sophisticated marine radio for the waters and situations in this part of the world.

You might note that marine radios are not toys.

I disagree, I spend alot of time on lake Superior and it was just the unit I was looking for. I only have a hand held Garmin GPS but by spring I'll be adding one to my boat. Then those extra features will be nice. Not a bad feature to have on any big-lake.. Lake of the Woods, Millacs, Etc... Strat