• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

6 Hp evinrude power loss

katofishingguy

Question

I have a Evinrude 6Hp fisherman model early 70's that has been acting up and the last time out it got worse. When I start out it starts on the first pull and will run ok at full throttle for a little then i begin to loose power as if it is running on one cylinder. This last time out it ran poorly from the start and I had to call it a night right away. Any ideas in what could be causing this? Dirty carb fouled plug bad gasket not sure where to start any help would be appreciated.

6 answers to this question

i am no mechanic but, sounds like it could be the coil. usually when a coil goes it runs fine till it heats up then it quits working.

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators

Will it do this every time, run good when cold then act up?

Next time it acts up check for spark with new plugs.

What I would consider doing is start with new plugs...clean and fresh. Then, take the motor out and run it a while. If it does not act up, you probably have found your issue and are done with it. But...if it does act up, pull the plugs once the engine has cooled a little. If one of them is wet and/or full of carbon and the other is not, you have a spark issue...which, as mentioned would most likely be a coil. Start by switching the two coils and repeat the process. If the other plug fouls up then, you found your problem.

Not sure if the plug wire is directly connected to the coil on that model, but if it is not, it might be just needing new plug wires. Over time wires get brittle and cannot transfer electrons as well. If you can pull the plug wires off both ends (coil and plug itself) switch those out first before swapping coils around. It may be just the wires are bad too...