• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Bow Speed?

Fatty07

I just bought a ultra tec Hoyt 1.5 cam. I love it. I'm new to bowhunting and shooting. I bought a parker last year and fell in love with bowhunting, upgraded before the second week of the season this year and love my new Hoyt. Have shot two deer with it and got pass through's on both shots, but am wondering why the speed of my bow is so much slower than my buddy's? The speed of my bow is around 245fps. Buddy's switchback is at 265fps. I pull 64# and he pulls 63#. His draws is an inch or two longer. Do arrows make that big of a difference? He shoots eastan Axis, I shoot a cheaper carbon arrow. Just wondering if I switch arrows would I have a faster bow? Does it matter? Would hate to miss a big buck because I am using cheaper arrows.

Are arrow rest are the same.

Fatty, You just opened a can of worms.

A complete pass through is all you can ask for. The extra 20 fps is just wasted energy. Forget about it.

Thanks,

Just seems to me that I should get a little better production out of the bow. How fast does a good set up go? May sound like a dumb question, but I know about as much about bows as i do women.

Fat- You hit the nail on the head when you said your buddies draw lenght was an inch or 2 longer. The longer the draw length, the morepower storke the bow has. Hence the more speed. I too shoot a Ultra Tec.. however I have a 31.5" draw length(quite long arms) I only pull 57 lbs and have 291 FPS.

Arrow weight has a lot to do with it as well.. Not the cost of them. With a lighter arrow you will get faster arrow flight, however, you may loose penitration. A heavy arrow will get through a deer easier.

IF you have shot 2 deer and got complete pass throughs... If it aint broke dont fix it!