• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

White bass?

I just watched a Lindner's episode which had a segment about "White Bass".. I have never caught one of these, and haven't even HEARD of them... they must not be very common!... do we have these fish in any metro lakes? What lakes have them? Are they fish people keep? Crazy! Can't believe the things I am still learning after fishing seriously for 2 years.

I know (and have caught) Rock Bass.. what other bass family fish do we have? I (as of tonight) count 4!

Ive caught and ate a few white bass. There fairly good eating. There mostly in the Mississippi River and in the Mankato area lakes. The state record of over 4 pounds came from the Mississippi down there. The Minnesota river also has them in i know.

Not in the lakes in the metro but Pool 2 and 4 of the Mississippi and the St Croix have a lot of them. Feisty fish on light tackle and you can catch a bunch of them when they are biting. They school up and are very competitive for food so your lure will get smashed over and over in the same spot. Not bad eating. Just remember to remove the lateral line (the dark meat).

They are real common in larger river systems, havent come accross them in a lake setting yet outside of some of the reseviors down in Iowa. Usually travel in schools and once you find them you can be in for some fast action. Once they get into a sort of "feeding frenzy" they go bezerk and start nailing everything in sight then all of a sudden they just seem to disappear and its time to target new fish. I agree with the others that they are pretty good eating too.