• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

St. Louis Bay ice fishing

I'm a veteran ice angler but new to Duluth/Superior. I'd like to ice fish St. Louis Bay (I hear the ice is thick enough now to walk out). But I'd like a little info about access and a couple spots, if possible. I'll be walking out (no snowmobile) and pulling my Fish Trap II from the Superior side. I hear that there are decent catches of perch, walleye, northern and crappie to be had in the bay. I've heard there are a couple places to walk out from Billings Drive. True? Are there other places as well? I'm not asking anyone to give away their hot spots, just give me general info about what depths to try and where roughly to go for an evening walleye bite. Would also like to throw out a tip-up for pike while fishing for perch/crappie/walleye during the day. Sure wouldn't mind a little help.

stfcatfish,