• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

How To Catch A Lake Trout By: ...someone

I am heading into Alder Lake in the BWCA with my daughter in the 2nd week of June. The DNR site states that the Lake trout population is up in that and other area lakes. I have never really fished for them. I am looking for some ideas to start with. Lures, Depth, Time of Day, Presentation; you know - complete novice on the subject. I have been to this lake several times before. I know it pretty well. Thanks

Shoot me an e-mail, I have an IF video on Lakers that might help. rnikko (at) comcast (dot) net. If you'd like I could loan it to you for a while as I have not watched it in quite a while.

I wrote a guide series for the paper I work for last summer, and one of the pieces was on catching lakers on Bdub lakes.

There are a lot of ways to catch lakers, and this is simply one experienced fisherman's way he does it. Looks like a good way to me, too, though my laker fishing has been mostly limited to shore casting and trolling with downriggers. The times I've been jigging, I've done it like he says and had success.

Figured it would help you.

Ely guide Chris Kleist is only 23 (24 now, I guess), but he started guiding at a surprisingly early age.

Nine years old, would you believe? Kleist said he’d already been with his father on lots of guide trips by that age, and when his dad’s client list overflowed, some of the clients, recognizing the pint-sized angler already knew his stuff, took him on.

“Their big kick was I was too small to pull the cord on the 25-horse,” said Kleist, who’s been guiding ever since and started doing it full-time at 16.

While he targets many species, he knows lakers are one of the most aggressive and powerful.

Here’s how he finds them, hooks them and lands them on.

Deep, but not bottomless