• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Recommended Anchors for Mille Lacs

Sportfish1850

Hey guys:

Outfitting my new boat and will be fishing up at Mille Lacs most of the summer. I've rented from resorts up there a few times over the last 10 years but overall I am pretty new to the lake. Not sure what to buy for an anchoring system.

Dealership included a 15# river style anchor but I doubt this is of much use on Milly. Should I use it or leave it home, or combine it with something else in a dual anchor ?

Boat is (not surprising given my username) an 18' Crestliner Sportfish.

Suggestions on anchor types and weights most effective for Mille Lacs fishing (multi species) appreciated.

------------------
Releasing a large fish today is a down payment on tomorrow's shore lunch.

Hi Sport, The top two anchors for Mille Lacs are the Pro Anchor made by Guidemasters or the Waterspike. Both have been designed specifically for rocky areas such as Mille Lacs. Each have an excellant retrieval system so you don't lose it, meaning that they won't get stuck in the rocks. Many stores carry these two anchors.

Jason Erlandson

------------------
Dave's Sportland Bait and Tackle
Sportland Guide Service Hwy 371 & Cty Rd 13
Nisswa MN

218-963-2401

[This message has been edited by early007 (edited 04-03-2004).]

[This message has been edited by Rick (edited 04-07-2004).]

Id recomend going with a heavier anchor.I have a similar boat and I use a 20# navy anchor.I tried a spike but I found it didnt hold very well in sand and mud when it was windy in a larger boat.A heavier anchor also makes it easier to fish a specific spot as you dont have to let out so much rope.The spike was easier to pull up tho

Sportfish,
I use a 28# navy with a 3 foot chain and it's a REAL back breaker!! BUT it holds my Ranger in place, which is what it's suppose to do. wink.gif