• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

turkey hunting ?'s/tips

BRULEDRIFTER

so here is few of many questions im sure to post from now till season opens. i am a rookie turkey hunter that need a lot of advice. any help and advice is greatly apreciated....

so i know they have killer eye sight, how is their sence of smell?

is there a "must have" book or video that ya'll know about that i should purchase to help me along?

i already have a CD with calls and tips, it came with a few mouth calls too, so i have been practicing those. what calls are "must haves"?

i know its still a little early, but then again, is it ever too early. thanX a ton everyone.

Well with one year under my belt I'm far from really knowledgeable, but I can answer some of your questions. They have no sense of smell or a very, very poor one, not an issue, kind of nice. They have great eyesight, but I had birds that were honed in on my call that I eventually had to move a lot while they were looking right at me in the shadow, to spook them off at 10-15 yards.

Buy a box call, regular style or I was very happy with my push button, gun mount style. You don't have to be very good to have it work for you. The mouth calls are very difficult in my opinion. I bought a shaker call which I had some success with & they're fun to use.

I would invest in a good slate call, they are easy to use, more versitle than a box call, and require less movement to operate. Also with the slates if you want to change tones slightly all you have to do is carry a differnt striker with you.

-Another thing to remeber is to be totally camoflauged, including hands and face.

-If it is possible do lots of scouting before the season so you have a general idea of the area and the birds habits.