• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Dog Training Question

schaapj

Hey everyone, this may be a stupid question, but I'm new to it so here goes.

When you purchase/raise pigeons or pheasants for dog training, is it leagal to shoot them for your dog to retrieve as well or do you just have to let them fly away after their flushed? What are the laws on training with live birds and where can I find them?

Any help would be apprieciated.

Thanks,
Schaap

Not a stupid question at all. Pigeons are shootable year round. Pheasants, I believe, can only be shot on game farm land while the season is closed. I have heard that you need a receipt for them to transport pheasants during closed season. I would recommend not shooting them until you know for sure. I have shot Chukar over my pup and they seem like a great option. They also have a year-round open season. They are cheaper than pheasants, hold tight for training, widely available, and quite tasty too. I just like shooting something I can eat a little more. It is cool to have your dogs bring you some thing you can actually use.

You can train with and shoot pheasants on private land as long as you have a permit from the dnr. They are easy to obtain, and run around 25$ (I think). Pigeons and chukar are both non-protected species and can be shot year round.

From the DNR 2004 State Hunting Rules and Regulations Guide.

Protected Animals
The following birds and mammals are protected in Minnesota by state or federal laws:

Protected Birds
All birds for which seasons are established in these regulations are protected birds but may be taken as authorized.

There is no open season on bobwhite quail, cranes, swans, hawks, owls, eagles, herons, bitterns, cormorants, loons, grebes, or any other species of birds except unprotected birds.

Unprotected Birds