• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New to the site

It is my first time to post.

I just want to say that I am very impressed with this site... thanks for all the good work done here and the interesting fishing information you made available.

I also wanted to share a hot spot with those here who fish Southern Minnesota. The last two fishing trips I have had were to Lake Francis. Lake Francis is near Elesian, Mn and West of Waterville and Faribault, MN on Hwy 60.

On both trips this week, my kids and I have been banging the big Sunfish on Lake Francis. These all male panfish are as big or bigger than your hand... and are on the spawn beds right now. They are "spewing & squirting".
We have been fishing the hazard-marker bouies on the West end of the lake that cover the rock-reef there. This is an area about 100 yards long (running North & South) and has about seven markers up. Most of the more concentraited fish are located on the area near the last marker on the South end of the row.
Our best luck came when anchored and fished from up-wind and stayed back away from the markers about 25 feet. This put the wind to our backs and allowed us to cast light lures further, by using the wind. The fish were holding in 4 to 7 feet of water near the shallows. If we anchored right on top of them, they spooked... and we had less bites. Staying back was the key and casting with the wind made it easy for the kids too.
These fish were going nuts for live-bait and "artificals" on small jigs and Willospoons. It was absolutely a fish for every cast. We must have caught several hunderd in only a couple of hours. They would have made a great meal, however we were doing the "catch & release" thing on both trips.
This was loads of fun on ulrta-light rods. Great action for the kids to experience.
I hope some of you can get there to enjoy this great bite!
Catch'n