• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

smallmouth info

Seeking info from people in the know about smallmouth fishing in the Kabetogama area, especially on Lake Kabetogama. We are mostly after larger bass to catch and release. We have heard that June is good due to spawn. If so, what half of June? Any area of the lake better then other? Who are good guides? What are the good resorts to stay at? We appreciate any helpfull advice you would be willing to share with us.

• 1 month later...

I'm no smallie expert by any means, but I'll give you the input I can. I've spent the last two summers (May-Aug) working in the park, on Kab, and fishing most evenings. I spend most of my time from the opener until late June fishing walleyes since they're up shallower and a little easier to find. Besides, the walleye fishing I've had during that time has been exceptional and getting better. Once they move deep (>20'), usually in early July is when I start looking for smallies.

In general, by that time I tend to concentrate on the "typical" smallmouth structure. My best success has come around very small rock humps, islands, and steep breaks. I generally pitch crankbaits (brown rattlin' Raps work great) so most of the fish I pick up are in ~6-10' of water. Haven't fished much deeper than that, though occasionally I get one with a jig and twister tail while looking for walleyes.

Since I stay at the east end of Kab, that's mostly where I've fished, but there's some really promising structure in the middle of the lake around some of the islands -- I just need a bigger boat and motor.

Can't give you much help on resorts since I've never stayed at any. As for guides ... same story. I have enough time to scout for myself, so never even considered it.

Good luck.