• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Red Lake River/Thief River Walleye?

Hi guys. I fish the river in Thief River Falls just about once a week, and I have the hardest time finding and catching walleye on these rivers! I thought I could figure them out, but I haven't had much success. Any info on what I need to do and where to look, would be greatly appreciated.<P>The area I'm asking about is above the dam, I can find Walleye below the dam, but not in the upper portion of the river.<P>Please let me know if you have any tips?<P>Thanks Much and Good Luck Fishing

Hey buddy... Your not alone. Rivers are a very elusive creature to grasp and try to tame. I have been studying rivers for the past 10 years and thought I was getting pretty good at it and my conficence was growing...... that was until I decided to head to TRF and try fishing over there for the first time ever..... Well... It was not a real good confidence builder LOL...

I landed the boat above the dam in that park. started out confused.. three rivers all of a sudden LOL... I tried graphing for fish but that did not work when the average depth was 3 feet.. found some deeper water, tried all sorts of techniques with only 3 bites... Got some local advice and headed below the dam to fish from the fishing piers... well after loosing about $20.00 worth of stuff in every cast into that rig eating snag heaven, I managed to bring in one Pike and almost got another type of fish to the shore but it also managed to run off with my rig.. LOL...

Maybe it was the major storm rolling in but I did not have any luck above or below the dam there....However... I want to put my two cents worth in for Theif River Falls....

BRAVO to you............ My first time visit over there was very shocking to say the least....