• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Hi,
I am looking for Walleye fishing information for Big Sand. I will be up June 14-21. When is the best time to fish that lake, What is the best bait and technique. Where on the lake are good Walleye spots

Any info would be much appreciated.
Sea Nymph

I've been fishing the area including Big Sand for many years. I personally have never had any luck or anything to make me want to fish that lake again. I probably won't until I hear better news. I think it is a tough lake to fish. If you do find fish you can catch them but that is not easy. Good Luck.....There are many lakes in the area that produce some great walleye fishing. Potato, Long, The whole Crow Wing chain to name a few. A great area all around. Tim

you may want to try little sand, smaller easier to target fish, we had so so luck on opener but all nice fish, wind not a real factor on the lake. I'm heading up on Sunday to see how the their biting.....

All of you who said that Big Sand is to hard to fish and not a good lake to fish just don't want Sea Nymph to have any luck. Sea Nymph all you need is a good lake map. This lake is filled with structure. There are humps, flats, and steep drops. Find some structure and fish it by either jigging or trolling. Don't be surprised to hook on to a few 22"-24" eyes.

[This message has been edited by Jim W (edited 06-02-2003).]

I think the key word in that last p[ost was a "few" nice fish. Sure you'll get that but if you want more than a few good luck.