• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Straight Lake/ Big Toad

I have been fishing Straight lake every year for a week since 1996. My wife and I stay at Breezy Point June 14 June 21 (about) every year. The resort is top notch and the lake is great. I usually catch northerns, bluegills, bass and a few crappies and walleye. I am already day dreaming about my trip!

This year I want to try nearby Toad Lake. The DNR shows nice numbers of walleyes and I want to give it a try some morning or evening. If anyone can give me a few tips I would sure appreciate it.

Can't even tell you how excited I get for this trip every year. See you soon!

Erik, I will maybe venture to Big Toad tonight and see what the deal is. The lake doesn't have much structure to fish, but there is plenty of weedlines to fish. I would suggest big bait, or lots of it because the rock bass were extrememly plentiful out there last year.

I will try and give you a report!!

Hammerem, thanks. Say I got another question for you. Have you ever eaten rock bass? As a kid I was always taught they are trash fish. About 10 years ago a friend of mine told me to eat one once and tell him if I could tell the difference between a rock bass and a bluegill on the dinner plate. I couldn't. Any report would be great. Thanks again.

Erik,

Hey, didn't get to Toad last night. Crappy weather kept me closer to home. I do know Toad can be tough at times to catch fish. There are some nice crappies in there also. So, pitch some small jigs on the weed edges. Half crappies and half rock bass.

Rock bass are pretty tasty. The only real problem is that they have such a thick rib cage which makes them a little tough to clean. I also think they get a little "mushy" in July, August. June should be good.