• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

• WE CREATE LONG TERM, MEANINGFUL RELATIONSHIPS IN HERE ... PLEASE JOIN US.

You know what we all love...

RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE
    When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

Caitlyn Casper

On shore fishing spots + local fish tips?

Caitlyn Casper

Hello!

I'm a student who just moved here from Washington state, and the fishing here seems to be a little different, so I am glad I found these forums! I have a few questions, I hope you don't mind answering. (I saw a post from 2003, but I figured I'd ask again this time around.) 

1. I don't have a boat, so are there any easy-ish to get to great spots in the area? I have a back injury and can't hike rough trails, but I can do a moderate hike. 

2. Any tips for local fish? I'm particularly interested in catfish, and I heard they are easier to catch on shore. What do catfish like bait and rig wise?

3. I prefer buying bait and other fishing stuff from locally owned stores. What are your recommendations?

Thanks! 

mrpike1973

Hello there!

Not sure exactly were your at but here goes.

1. in Cold Spring right on the river is a public fishing pier this is on the Sauk River this is great for Catfish. There are also some bridges throughout the system that can be great for Catfish.

2. Catfish love night crawlers, leeches and cut bait. I personally have not had the best luck with chicken livers but worth a try. As for rigs a slip sinker works great. A weight, egg sinker works good then tie a snap swivel with about a 1-2 foot leader to a hook. I prefer circle hooks as they don't gut hook fish very often and have a great point of getting in the mouth. A regular float and small jig or hook also works well.