• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Nuke plant

Swamp_Gas

Greetings all. I am a newbie to this site but not so new on the river. I have heard of guys getting messed with by guards at the plant. I have never had any experience with guards over several years of drifting past. Until last week. I was minding my own business when one days I needed to "move along". I politely informed him that I wasn't anchored or even "slipping" the current. I was simply drifting at the mercy of the river. He shouted back that I needed to move along faster.

Anyone have similar experiences?

Yesterday I did the same thing with a 5# catfish on my line as I drifted by. Nobody felt the need to harrass me then.

I realize they have a job to do.

Yea I have been asked to move along at a faster pace a few times. Just depends on which guys are working it seems.

I often times see the guards scurry out in their vehicles and onto the catwalk thingy as I float by. Gives them something to do. In all the years they've been operational I don't believe there has ever been a single incident. Guys are probably bored and looking for somebody to harass.

I do believe that their security cameras are networked into a national security center and often times the local guards get radioed in by the "feds" to ask somebody move along. So some of it is out of there control.

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Builders

most likely whos on duty, maybe just one guy feeling the power? who knows. there was a guy at the sartell papermill that always had a cow when we fished right at the dam. he'd scream and hollar and threaten us. thought he owned the river on the east side down to the first bridge. one day I told him to shut up or I will call the Sartell police. he mellowed out after that lol