• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Youth Coaching

chasineyes

Hi, I'm a coach for a 3rd and 4th grade in house team. I'm looking for some tips or rules that other towns/teams enlist in their programs. One of the things I"m trying to change is a "no steal" policy. So far this year we have been trying to run our "play" but as soon as the girl crosses the half court line it is stolen. Now I"m sure I could tell her to just drive by the girl and go to the hoop but want usually ends up happening is a pass (or heave) of the ball up in the air. I'm in the camp that half of the girls playing have NEVER played ball before and am seeing that this constant steal and run is portraying a negative affect on the game. I gues if we just want to steal and run, steal and run that's what we will do. But then don't turn around 4 or 5 years from now and wonder why they don't know how to pass or play as a team.

Help please!! By the way, we have about 5 practices and 13 games a season.

would setting a pick or screen work to get pas tthe 1/2 court line?

or try a pass prior to getting to the line have a player step out to take ball quicker. just a thought. i agree with you if we don't teach kids early they are clueless, disinterested if they keep losing, ther is nothing better than coaching & seeing it finally click for them. good luck.

I know what your saying but I'm still having a hard enough time getting them into their "position". We are trying a simple 1-2-2 offense. And the 2 High post players still don't know where there "home" is.