• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

St Croix River to No Wake Status by 28 September

SteveD

St Croix River level prediction is for 683 feet by Tuesday, 28 September which will put the river in a No Wake status. Forecast shows it reaching 684.5 feet by Thursday, September 30th. That should pretty much slow down the cruisers - I'm not too worried about the sturgeon bite as I had good luck a few years ago when the river levels were high, it doesn't seem to slow down the sturgeon that much.

full-8403-1360-28sep2010.png

That is very interesting info Steve. Thanks for the heads up. I am new to the croix, as I've only been on it a handful of times the past couple weeks sturgeon fishing so I don't know what "normal" water level and current is like. Is the "no wake status" a pretty rare thing? Does this happen every year? Is the current out there much stronger than it is at "normal" conditions? It will definitely be nice to see a few less boats out there for fishing purposes. Running to some spots is going to be out of the question for time constraints so I will have to be strategic on where I launch. I hope this helps the sturgeon fishing. Is there any estimate on the length of the "no wake" status or when water levels will crest and come back down to normal?

I've always had a strong dislike for no wake zones, especially long ones. If a boat is up on plane, there really isn't that much of a wake. Is the croix's no wake status really accomplish anything beneficial of is if more of a precautionary measure?

I've always had a strong dislike for no wake zones, especially long ones. If a boat is up on plane, there really isn't that much of a wake. Is the croix's no wake status really accomplish anything beneficial of is if more of a precautionary measure?