• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

How long will a can of white gas remain in usable condition?

Gadgetman

Question

Just curious how long a can of white gas will remain in usable condition. I noticed that it is now about $14 per gallon. I like to keep a gallon or two around in case of emergencies but at that price I dont want to be sitting on a bunch of bad gas. I dont believe that there is any kind of stabilizer for white gas is there?

11 answers to this question

i'm no expert on white gas but i have kept a can for 3 or 4 years between camping trips and had no problem and never used any additives. good luck.

Coleman fuel has developed rust in the can on me in just a few years just sitting on a shelf in the garage but not sure why. I still haven't figured it out.

HTB

I noticed that it is now about $14 per gallon.

Same thing as Coleman fuel, correct? I just paid $8.88 at Walmart (pretty sure it's a gallon can).

Thanks for the heads up Ralph - I will have to check out Wally world

No prob. I bought a can a couple weeks ago and was there yesterday, too. Much better than $14!

I quit buying white gas about 10 years ago and only burn unleaded gas. I have been using it in my lantern and both of my stoves,single and a double burner with no problems. Much cheaper and it comes out of the can for the lawn mower/snowblower so it is always fresh. Always Non-Oxy