• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

uh oh......missing bear! Now what?

Handsonthepole

Hi guys....I am new to the bear hunting experience so am looking for some advice. We have only one bait site(mostly due to lack of time to bait and distance away) which had been getting hit daily since we established it.....until Friday. It hasn't been touched now for two days. I am heading up Tues to hunt opener. We use cookie dough and trail mix which was getting eaten completely every day....our camera shows at least one bear, possibly two. I am wondering if I should try another attractant or bait on opening day or continue as we have as they seem to like what has been put out?....and if they don't come back by then is it worth moving the site all together? It's hard to have patience this far into the game!Any info would be appreciated.

I would do a burn can when you go to hunt, throw alot of fryer grease around for long distance scent. Also set up couple more baits 1/4 mile apart from where you are. Alot of different food out there right now for them to eat so try putting different foods at each bait. Don't over feed them, keeps them coming back that way. Good hot grease thrown around when hunting really draws them in.

Welcome Scaup3, You probably lost them to another bait or acorns. Keep at it and they will probably return. Can't say by opener though. What general area do you hunt?

bogwalker....we hunt the Kelliher area. My friend who is baiting for us says there are not many oaks around which may be a bad thing as the bear could travel a little further for acorns? Someone mentioned doing a burn...what is that?