• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Bear Hunting in the Morning??

fishingfool

I am relatively new to bear hunting, having only hunted them one other time before. From most of things I have read and heard prior to this year, bear hunting over bait was only done in the evenings. Then I ran into a MN bear hunter who claimed he hunted bears in the morning commonly. Then I was fishing Manitoba this June (during their spring bear season) and he had bear hunters in camp who hunted every morning. He said about half the bears shot in camp are killed in the morning.

I was under the impression that hunting bears in the morning did more harm than good. Is that true?

When we bear hunt were are staying far away from home and camping so I guess if its an good option I would prefer to hunt in the morning (instead of twittling our thumbs all day) as well as the evening.

I am looking for any opinions from folks that have experiences either way. Pros vs cons of morning hunting. for those that do hunt in the morning, do you get in before light? wait till light and then sneak in? How long into the morning do you hunt?

Any other considerations?

Thanks in advance for any comments!

I have never hunted in am but I do have bear hit my stations shortly after sunrise on my cameras and early afternoon often. I'm just not a morning person.

I've seen and shot bears in the morning. I've also bumped a few trying to get to the stand in the morning. I try to hunt nights first, but will hunt the morning if the trail cam tells me to.