• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Couple questions

Hick727

Well ive been fishing seriously for about 6 years now, so since i was 10. Ive been using a Spincast the whole time. Im not really good with spinning reels. So i wanna learn how to use a baitcaster. Does anyone have any suggestions for which baitcast i should buy? Not cheaply made but not super expensive. Also whats a #5 rapala mean? Or a #7? What do they mean?

#5 or #7 is the size of the rapala. Smaller the number, smaller the lure. As far as what to buy for a bait caster... If you have problems fishing with a spinning reel I think you are going to have a lot more troubles with a bait caster.

There is no reason no one over the age of 6 can't learn to use a spinning reel OR a baitcast reel in a day of fishing.

Buy one, MAKE yourself use it (leave those spincasts at home) and you'll pick it up just fine.

Just go use it and you'll get better at it each time.

i think using a spinning reel would be much eaiser to learn then a baitcast reel, but you should be able to learn fast off of each one.

My recommendations.

1. read up on the reviews on the reels online before picking one

2. Watch some of the instructional videos on youtube that show how to adjust the brake and drag appropriately.

3. Tie on something to practice with and throw it around the yard awhile if you cannot practice on the water.

Piece of cake.

The number per Rapala lure refers to the length in centimeters.

As to the baitcasters, I really think you should try a spinning reel first. They are very easy to learn, and I use them 95% of the time.