• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Grunting

WyoChris

How many people use grunt calls when they are in thier stand? I have heard some people say they swear by them, and other's say they are worthless. What do you think? I'm pretty new to bowhunting, so I don't have an opinion yet, but i'd like to get your opinions.

Thanks

Chris

from mid october they are one of the best things to have up in the tree, out here in the dakotas decoys work great out in the open. I always have my grunt call and use the decoy on a regular basis come november.

Great tool to use during the heat of the rut if you know there are bucks in the area!! They are also nice just to make a little noise and get the curiosity of deer to make them come out and see whats goin on!! Grunting doesn't hurt anything i guess!

On the other hand, sometimes silence is the best thing!!

I've not had any luck with them until about the middle of Oct. After that, they can work well at times. If a buck is coming towards me, I just let him come. If he's going to go past me, but out of range, I will try grunt him or bleat him over. I often bleat first, if that doesn't work, I grunt. If that doesn't work, I'll rattle once they are far enough away to not bust me. Sometimes one will flip their trigger, but the others won't. Sometimes, nothing works and they just keep on strolling by.

I always have mine on me from opening day to the end of the season, why not it doesnt take up any room tucked into your coat. More often then not they are not going to work for you but if you have a nice buck out of range thats walking away from you why not blow a couple grunts at him and see what happens, if he doesnt respond oh well he wasnt going to come in anyways but there is always a chance he will come into it and give you a shot.