• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Deer Decoys

JigginGopher

I've been bowhunting for 2 seasons now and would like to try using a decoy this season. I have no experience using them and no one I hunt with has used one before. I think it would be fun watching the deer respond to it so i would like to give it a try. Do you think i should get a doe or buck decoy? I was thinking either the Flambeau boss buck or boss babe decoy. Anybody use those decoys specifically? Most of my hunts are during the first couple weeks of the season and then again the first couple weeks of November if that makes any difference. I only hunt a few stands during October. Any recommendations/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

Great question! I would also be interested to hear any product brand people have had good luck with. Looking for one that's easy to carry in and set up. Thanks.

As far as choosing a decoy, I would consider one that can be a buck or doe. If it has removable antlers and its not so imposing it will be more likely to attract more deer than repel them.

I've never tried one, but I'm considering it this year.

My scare face bobble head cost me a 160"+ 12 lastyear on Nov 2nd it was not the decoys whole fault ut if I didn't have it out he was on a trail at 23 yards that would have put him at 5 if he didn't spot the decoy and hang up with that one tree branch I didn't see. I still see that arrow sailing over his back in my nightmares, but he will be bigger this year. Just remember set them in the open mine was a little brushy only could spot it from 50 yards I think in the fields would be better.