• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New to all this

Hello all,

I am a newbie who used to fish as a child.

I have only been out a dozen or so times as an adult.

In an effort to find common intrests with my adult son, we are taking up fishing.

SO for those of us who may have little gear and are looking to shore fish for something other than pan fish, what are the groups sugestions.

Also lake in the metro area where we could rent a boat smile

Thanks to all for all the great info I have found here!

Rivers are your best bet. Minnesota would be closest to you, but the st. croix is my favorite. It's a who's who as to what you can catch...walleye, sauger, northern pike, catfish, white bass, smallmouth bass, sturgeon, sucker, redhorse, carp, sheephead, snapping turtle, rock bass, etc. It's as simple as casting out a nightcrawler, minnow, or cutbait. Most boat launches provide good shorefishing access.

You can rent canoes on Calhoun. Drop a worm in that lake and see what you catch.

I'm pretty sure Howard's Point Marina on Minnetonka rents boats. I think Harty's on Medicine Lake rents boats too.

On the croix you can join the "aluminum hatch" and rent a canoe to float downstream. The park provides a ride back to the starting point. Some good smallie fishing (among other species) in the stretch between interstate and william o'brien parks. Twister tails and spinners are about the only lures you'll need.

hit the minnesota river on black dog road with cut up sucker minnows and fish for cats that is a great time and cheep!