• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

white bass

canon

Last fall I really enjoyed white bass fishing. Is the white bass fishing good in the spring as well? Does this continue a bit through the summer? I am new to fishing this fish and really enjoyed the catch, just don't know enough about them. Any info is helpful. I started fishing the croix a couple years ago, I found it difficult at first to find the fish I was searching for and the techniques, but now I really enjoy the river, it is truly a great place to be.

If you are fishing off of a boat, you have numerous places up and down the river to catch white bass. You can catch them in the stillwater area, prescott, hudson, not to mention up and down the mississippi. The usually bite very well between April-July. I also love fishing white bass myself. They put up a pretty good fight. Do you catch and release only or have you tried eating them? They are quite tasty in my opinion.

Good luck in the spring.

Thanks for the reply. I keep some of them, I heard they are tasty so I tried it and found they are right. I have heard many taking the red meat off of their side and have tried it both ways. I mainly fished the croix for smallies in which I release, but one day I tried for crappies and caught the white bass. One day when I was out fishing, I noticed a top water frenzy and casted a rattle trap in, wow, was that fun, tasty and fun, what a great combination. I have found it hard to find them some days, but again I am new to it. I am not a walleye fisherman, I enjoy the search and the casting, so white bass is perfect fishing for me. I had a lot of success in the fall, have not tried the spring yet, so is it pretty good action? I fished around the 94 bridge.