• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Coon Rapids Dam to St Anthony Falls Fishing Reports (Pool 1)

eckum54

I'm kinda new to fishing the upper parts of the Mississippi, and i was wondering if there is any good fishing between the Coonrapids Dam and St Anthony Falls (I believe that this is pool #1), and if you have any good tips as to how to fish it...any help would be great...thanks

• Replies 107
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• deadeye

• e1teen93

• Slabasaurus

• mrklean

Actually that may be the worst section of the river to fish from Grand Rapids to the Gulf....Very rocky 694 up,best fished from shore. Here the fishing is not bad but it is just dangerous. Below 694 it is a [PoorWordUsage] shoot best off staying above CR or below Ford.

There's a lot of small bass and small channel cats, but there are some nice fish in there too. Just not as good as above the CR Dam.

As stated above it is rocky, but most rivers are. I've fished it in my jon boat plenty of times. Just go slow until you know where the hazzards are.

The river is dredged for barges all the way up to the Camden bridge (well the Rail Road bridge)in the 694 section, after the Camden bridge it's still pretty deep, but there's a shallow boulder field next to the islands going upstream.

What launch are you going to? 694 or Camden (aka North Sippi Regional Park) I know the section around those 2 ramps pretty well and could give you better info.

I do agree with wormdunker that it's the worst section - it didn't use to be though.

• 2 months later...

i moved pretty much right across from the 694 landing.....could you provide any more detail on areas to watch for or for fishing as i know its fairly shallow and rocky in this area. i plan to mainly fish from 694 up towards the dam. thanks!