• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

As you can see by my number of posts I am a newbie. I live down in Central Florida and have a opportunity to fish Vermillion this coming weekend for bass. I will be fishing with my brothers and brother inlaw and know they will stick me as far back in their boats as they can, I will also be using their hand me down equipment. Because of this disadvantage can anyone suggest lure and color that will bring in a few LM and SM? Thanks in advance for any info

Bogo,

Welcome to FM/HSO!

I am not a bass fisherman but you should get plenty of good advice from some of the other FM members.

Cliff

Use a senco or a football jig with 4 inch worm in dark colors. You should have some action on the shorelines with nice smooth boulders. Suspending cranks also take fish... cast them up on shore wait a couple seconds.. one jerk and then wait again.. most fish will hit it right then. Clown or again dark or natural colors.

I haven't targeted bass for years, however incidental catches are common throughout the season. Casey's info is dead on. I catch them from in tight to out off the first break while fishing early season walleyes. I also catch 'em in deeper water on a jig/minnow combo during the first few weeks of the season, and again after the spawn.

Paul.

Doesn't bass season open up on 5/23?

I have caught a good amount of LMB while northern fishing the shallows early in the season.

Steve

Steve,

The bass season opens in this area at the same time as walleyes.

Cliff