• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Hi.

New to this forum.

I'm heading up the 3rd week in May to do some Smallmouth fishing. First time to the lake. I just bought a topo map of the lake(s)

Was hoping some you could share some good spots to try.

Thanks in advance !

JW

JW,

I see you're located in Missoula. I grew up North of Missoula in Kalispell. Stop in the store when you come up, I'm sure people will give you lots of information on this forum, you may want to check through some of the previous threads.

Hey supermono,

Welcome to the FM/HSO forums.. great to have you.. I am not a self proclaimed expert on the bass but have put my time in over the years.. I tend to look for boulder shorlines that time of year (early season).. find some smooth round rocky areas with rocks the size of grapefruit.. should be a good starting point.. my personal favorite is the largemouth bite in Dago bay in May.. I'm sure others will chime in and help you out a little bit but anyways Welcome to the site...

Casey

JW,

Where are you staying?

I like the rocky shores on the east end of Niles bay, south from where the channel goes into wolf bay along the east shoreline all the way over to the north channel of Oak narrows. I've had better luck hitting uninhabited rocky shores than I have near docks and man made structure. I can only assume this is because of the great number of fishermen who cast around docks/cribs/boathouses, etc.

Good luck,

Steve

JW,

I've had better luck hitting uninhabited rocky shores than I have near docks and man made structure. I can only assume this is because of the great number of fishermen who cast around docks/cribs/boathouses, etc.