• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

South Dakota Pheasants

Guest Kyle

For the last four years I have been saying "I want to go to SD for some pheasants", but the season comes and goes so quickly it leaves me right here in central MN where Ive been the whole time! Well this year its gonna happen! So, if anyone can tell me where I need to go to get some famous South Dakota pheasants that ive heard so much about, or any information on how they are hunted out there, please let me know. Im not into paying guides to show me a good place, Id rather do it myself, but since I have no experience, a little advice would be great.

Thanks

wait till late season. you'll be away from all the crowds that way. get on the game fish and parks website and get a map that details public areas and walk-in areas. theres tons of info available on the internet about south dakota pheasant hunting.

Look into N.Dakota also. I have hunted both North and South Dakota, and for the average hunter North Dakota has a more to offer. In rural areas almost every farmer lets you hunt his land for free and there are also lots of public areas. There are a lot of birds in North Dakota also. South Dakota from what I exprienced seems real commercial now, more pay to hunt attitude.

Sounds like you're looking for the trip of a lifetime and then you automatically rule out guides. Not saying that you need one but the experience may outweigh the price. Don't overlook ditches. SoDak reg. book clearly spells out the rules so you can road ditch hunt legally and not road hunt.