• RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE

You know what we all love...

When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

Sign in to follow this  
Bobb-o

full choke?

Bobb-o

anyone use a full choke for waterfowl? been thinking of getting one as it seems like you would have less injured birds and it would be better at putting them down?

Rainman

Actually you get a worse pattern if you restrict steel shot to much I believe. I shoot a modified choke and have had great results with it.

dolsmi

I use a Pattern Master on my Benelli Super Black Eagle and love it. I never take it off to put a different choke on.

cat-man

I have a patternmaster on my SBE also and it has not been out of the barrel since i bought it last fall. Patterns great with every load i've tried but mainly shoot winchester supreme BB. best choke money can buy because it works by having five wad slowing studs inside rather than using constriction like most others that i have used.

big drift

A full choke under some applications can work very well when you use it for an intended purpose. An example I have a fullchoked Beretta AL-2 in a 30" barrel that will be eventually turned over for a modification to run multiple chokes out of. But until then I have test fired it and have a great patterning gun roughly 90% pattern when using 3" 11/4 oz. Steel 3's out to 40 yards the same load in BB only allows 3-4 pellets to strike the target. Now this barrel will be used on divers and geese other then that. As later in the season I switch to a more open choke that allows me to use heavier shot for geese.

Early season geese do not require as heavy of loads as later season birds.

Pattern your gun or switch to a modified choke for a more open spread or one that allows you to use the larger shot.