• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Final Trip a Success

Made the last trip of the season and it was a great time. I took my son in law and his brother who were total newbies to LOW.<BR>Thursday we hit the lake at 1145am after a 5 hour ride (including a breakfast stop). We were once again fishing out of Riverbend and there houses. We were in 27' of water and ended up with 13 keeper fish for the day and many small fish being returned. Nothing large with 17" eye and 16" saugs being the biggest. Again it was the same as last week for us, small glow white/green or glow white/orange crappie jigs fished right on the bottom with the smallest fatheads in the bucket. A slow lift and drop brought the fish off the bottom. The larger jiggin' spoons still seemed to spook the fish.<BR>Friday: On the lake at 630am and again the same presentation worked for us. Mid day I did go to a small silver/orange zip jig tipped with a fathead and found some agressive fish that would take this presentation as long as I kept it to a minimum. The day produced 31 mixed eye and saug. Again nothing huge, with 18" eye the largest. Again a lot of throw backs. Also one pout, two tulllibe and a couple of nice perch. My son and two of the guys headed to 16' at 300pm. I stayed at 27' and had a ball until 445pm and things died. They picked up fish from 500-630pm when Richard picked us up and we headed back.<BR>Saturday: On the lake again at 630am and fished until noon. We culled the fish in the morning throwing back a lot of small fish but were able to put the 12 we needed together for our limit. Again the same slow technique worked better than anything aggressive. The newbies had a great time and want to know when we're headed back. i think they're hooked.<P>There was defintitley more travel evident on Saturday morning off the main roads by vehicles. There are still some slush