Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BillP

NEEDED: "No Slip" for treated wood

11 posts in this topic

When treated wood gets wet it turns into green ice. I have not been able to find a product that will make it slip resistant. The old sand in paint won't work because it just sands itself off. I did have some luck with a two part epoxy paint and sand. Something that could be applied with a brush or roller would be good or a mesh of some kind that could be stapled down. With all the decks and ramps and docks, you would think someone would have come up with a solution.

I would think some of the paint on bedliner that has a rough surface would work.

I've never tried this on treated wood before, but have you thought of the non-slip shower liners?

I know places like 3M make some for industrial uses (sticky on one side and almost like a sandpaper on the other).

Just a thought.

Quote:

I've never tried this on treated wood before, but have you thought of the non-slip shower liners?

I know places like 3M make some for industrial uses (sticky on one side and almost like a sandpaper on the other).

If you need any of these let me know....

I just painted the basement steps at a rental unit w/ Kilz slip resistance. I chose a grey color and it is pretty rough. Worked very well on that wood and would put it on again. On wood that will get wet alot, I am sure you'll be fine with 2 maybe 3 coats. Hope that helped a little.

Herculiner is a bedliner kit that you can purchase at such places as Menards and Fleet Farm. I have used it for a number of different applications. I personally haven't used it on wood, but I know that you can. I've been very pleased with it.