• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New to fresh water fishing

cldboater

Good day All

Well I am new to the sport of fresh water fishing. I grew up on the ocean and fished for many years. Doesn't take much to haul in a good catch

I recently got a 17ft old tri hull boat with a over hauled 65 hp motor together. Took it out on the Mississippi a few times to work out all my adjustments. Runs great and floats. So that's a plus

Ok the facts. I live in Cottage Grove and will be launching from the bluff since i have a park pass on my truck

As far as gear

For now I have an ugly stick and a small tackle box. Humminbird matrix 37 fishing system with gps. Don't laugh to hard. Working on a small budget for now as well

What works and what doesn't work as far as plastic bait?

Is live bait better? worms, leeches, minnows

Where is a good spot for newbie to practice with out pissing the vets off?

I don't have a trolling motor yet either so I will be drifting or anchoring... maybe a slow idle

I also have been reading every thing I can about river / lake fishing. Every one tells me it is way different than ocean fishing, is this true?

I am also looking to fish a species that put up a little fight.

I have no interest in eating fresh water fish. Catch and release only

Any advise any one can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance. i dig the forum.. Lots of great stuff!

Welcome to fresh water fishing, choosing the croix is a great start to alot of fun and fish. The bluff park is a really nice launch and theres lots of good areas around there, the shoreline straight across from the launch area and down, usually produces eyes . A jig tipped with a fathead is a safe bet specially in spring and fall, see you on the water! cool.gif