Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Fish&Fowl

UMC

14 posts in this topic

I'm looking at taking a trip to Crookston within the next month or so to check out the school and the town. Just got a couple questions for the locals:

Is there much for houses/apts to rent near the school? I'm not a dorm kind of guy.

Would it be best to get ahold of a shopper or local newspaper to find rentals?

Is there a system to get ahold of current renters looking for roommates?

I realize if you're not in the school these are probably hard to answer. Just trying to get a feel for what to expect, it's coming fast! Any info appreciated.

I'm a UMC grad (Class of '95).

I lived in the dorms for 2 years and an apartment for the second 2. There are several apartment buildings within 1-2 miles of campus. Crookston has a local newspaper that I'm sure would be a good starting place.

I don't know of any system for people looking for roommates to use. Check with your advisor or at the student center when you get to campus.

UMC just built some new on-campus, "apartment" style dorms that look nice from the road.

Later,

crookstontimes dot(uknow what) wink.gif

I'm also a UMC grad (02)-

The on-campus apartments are not bad - I don't know anything about the new ones, but I lived in Lee Hall and it was alright. There is also low income housing duplexes that used to be available to students. They are on the east side of town, not far from campus.

FI

the duplexes are a set-aside for migrant housing. If there are vancancies during the cold weather, then you may get in, but ya have to vacate come spring.

Thanks for the info and quick replies!